A Trip to the Garden


Getting Started
August 21, 2010, 5:04 pm
Filed under: Gardening

So I must say that we are just in the very beginning stages of our garden. I have my fingers crossed that we have not started too late. From what I have been reading, I should have enough time to get a good season in. The first thing we have done to prep our garden is find a spot and clear it out. We had two dead plants just taking up space under our windows, so we decided to rip those up. This was quite the task- thank you hubby 🙂 After that, used a rototiller to loosen up our very hard soil. We do plan to used raised garden beds, but the loose soil below will help the roots of some of the plants grow deeper. Today’s task will be to make the raised beds (nothing too fancy). I will post pictures when these are done. I think we also will be heading down to the garden center to get our starts. Yes we are using starts, not seeds. With this being my first year, I wanted to start fairly simple. I also think that it is too late to start from seed.

I hope to make quick progress getting everything started and post multiple updates along the way. Stay tuned….

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good for you Suzie! I am so proud of you! I hope your garden is plenty so I may share in the bounty. Keep us all posted, a blog is a great idea. Good luck.

Comment by Kathy




Leave a Reply

